This is Efficiency

April 9, 2007 at 2:56 pm Leave a comment

I thought I knew what efficiency was, until I read about these guys. The dabbawalla’s are a six-sigma certified, extremely efficient delivery “service” based in Mumbai, India. Fans, allegedly, include Bill Gates and Richard Branson. They make 200,000 deliveries a day, picking up food from homes and delivering to offices around the city. It is estimated that they make one mistake in 6,000,000 deliveries, which I imagine is much better than FedEx. And they do it barefoot, sans education, vehicular transport and computers!

I am looking forward to meeting these guys on my India trip this summer.

Update: I have great respect for what guys like Seth have to say. I’m glad he shared his views on the Dabbawalla’s. Do go through his blog if you don’t do so already.

Entry filed under: Business.

iPhone Won’t Rule the World. Yet. I Love the Palm Foleo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


